Alcohol Withdrawal Seizures

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

vmsteven

New
Reaction score
I'm a college freshman with a little history of seizures. When I was younger (approx. 7th grade) I had a few seizures that we thought were related to very high fevers. During the seizures, I would pass out, my eyes would roll back in my head, and I would clench up my body very tightly. This occurred once again about a year ago after another high fever, and I hadn't had one since. Two weeks ago, I was sitting in class on friday when I had the same type of seizure as before. I had been heavily drinking the night before, but this is nothing unusual for me as a college student (I am not a drinker normally on weekdays, only on weekends, and would not consider myself an alcoholic at all). I was taken to the hospital where I had another seizure and was prescribed Keppra. I am aware I'm not supposed to drink on the Keppra, but I continued to do so and didn't have any problems until today. I forgot to take my medication last night, and I was drinking heavily. This morning, about 10 minutes after I took my medication, I had another seizure, the same type. I also woke up with a chipped tooth because of how hard I was clenching my jaw. I could feel the seizure coming on (stomach sickness, extreme hot flashes, and dizziness) and called my mom. I talked to her for about 15 seconds and she said I was very delirious and then I