Father with Epilepsy—new to forum

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

Reaction score
My name is Mikhail and I'm new to Coping with Epilepsy. I've been researching about epilepsy since my dad had a seizure last November when he was sleeping. He never had a seizure during 20 years (since I was born). He had a treatment with Phenytoin since he was 18 'til his early 50's and well, since this recent seizure he started his Phenytoin treatment once again (now he's 72).

His first seizure was when he was 18 and it was caused after hitting his head during a work out. This last seizure appeared just a few days after falling and hitting his head once again. The problem—basically—is that he started this Phenytoin treatment but it is causing him a lot of pain on his hands, knees, fingers, back, neck and even head. My "research" has shown that many of this treatments use to cause this kind of symptoms. The problem is that they're getting even worse. He absolutely unable to even move his mouth early in the morning when he wakes up, but after a few hours he walks, talks and is able to do normal things (still with pain).