Health Insurance...Aak!

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

Reaction score
Hello all! I'm new to the forum and much in need your assistance.
I started having seizures when I was a freshman in high school. However, now I'm a senior in college, and they have been controlled with medicine for several years.

Now that I'm graduating, I am no longer eligible for my parents' health insurance. My biggest concern is paying for medicine, which is way too expensive without help from insurance. However, this qualifies as a "preexisting condition."

I have tried applying to health insurance, but they will not cover any expenses related to the epilepsy. I will be trying a few others, but I don't foresee having any better luck. Any ideas for how to pay for medicine (much less doctor bills/EEGs) as I start out on my own?

Thanks for your input!