Is anyone else always tired? zzz

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

lisajane

New
Reaction score
Hi All,

I am new to the world of epilepsy. I only got told I had epilepsy the other day after months of doctors/hospital appointments and tests.
I have black outs which sometimes make me collapse.
Recently I've had a lot of time off for work...my boss was not happy :(
I got no support so ended up leaving after being signed off work for a few weeks after a bad collapse.
I feel tired all the time...ill sleep for 8 hours...but then wake up feeling tired.
Is this normal for someone with epilepsy?
Or is it just me?
Any help or advice would be great...such a scary time, I have so many questions and no answers :(

Seizures can be exhausting on their own, and the the meds can make us tired too. Another potential cause of fatigue is if you are having seizures at night, or otherwise sleeping poorly. Have you had a sleep study done? That might indicate how restless or restful your sleep is and if there are any sleep issues (like apnea) that can be playing a role.

Nakamova is right. Anti-seizure drugs can be a challenge all in themselves.

My meds definitely make me tired and drowsy, but it also begins to feel normal after a while. Caffeine can compensate somewhat but I would caution against it.

What medication are you taking?

Last edited:
Hi lisajane,
Welcome to CWE.