Keppra Withdrawal?

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

dsmilo

New
Reaction score
Hi, this is my first time posting, and I was hoping to get some help or insight.

About 5-6 years ago, I experienced a seizure in my sleep. Since then, I've had a few more, all while sleeping. I had been on Keppra 500mg nightly for about 4.5 years, and have been on Levetiracetam 500mg nightly for approximately 6 months now. I haven't had any problems with either, but the one time my doctor temporarily took me off the drug, I relapsed and had another seizure. Recently, though, my current prescription ran out before the newest one arrived in the mail. Since running out of medication a week ago, I have been totally unable to sleep and felt a totally crippling depression at most points of the day. I have felt depressed before, but nothing nearly as severe as this. Accompanying the depression is a nausea and lack of appetite.

I just wanted to know if anyone could tell me if these are common withdrawal symptoms, and if anyone has any suggestions. Thanks in advance.

Last edited:
I thought those 2 drugs were the same? one generic and one brand name? maybe not. lol

I thought those 2 drugs were the same? one generic and one brand name? maybe not. lol
Yeah, they are, but I wasn't sure if there was maybe some difference with respect to withdrawal. Any ideas?