Massachusetts Driving and Seizures

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

Reaction score
Hey all,

Everyone has been great on here so far. I apologize if this topic is already lsited somewhere but I couldn't find it.

I am a Massachusetts driver. I had a seizure on Feb 14th, after a MRI, Blood work and a 48 hour EEG. My neurologist said some abnormal brain waves were detected coming from my left side of my brain. I don't remember the exact area. He told me the law is I can't drive for 6 months and put me on some meds. I have had 2 seizures and they have been a couple years apart and now I am medicated as of recently. I am currently abiding by the 6 month rule. However, I am suppose to self report myself. Which I have not done yet.

I want to self report because I just might be able to get my Dr to say I can drive. Massachusetts has an exception clause, although I am not 100%

My questions are if anyone would be so kind to answer are:

1. If you report yourself, does your insurance go up?

2. Are there any legal ramifications if I don't report myself? Like I said, I am abiding to the 6 month rule as of right now. I just really don't want to go through the hassle of getting it back.

I just want to know if there are any Mas drivers that have gone through this process and can they offer any advice.