need advice on depakote

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

pikedb

New
Reaction score
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

hello all...i am new to board but need some advice from those in the know. my six year old has been on zarontin for absence seizures since she was three. My sis had epilepsy when we we young so I knew what to see and encourage pediatrician to test her. since going on zarontin i have never/rarely witnessed anything I could adamently say was another seizure. however her bi annual eeg's have indicated 1 second and 10 second spikes. the neurologist is always quite dubious when i say that i haven't seen seizures. st any rate, dr now wants to incorporate depakote into the the drug therapy out of concern for my childs education foundation as she is now entering 1st grade (right now my child is ahead of the curve intellectually). While I understand where dr is coming from I am resistant to more druf therapy when I do not see any siezure indications. Addmittedly, my sister had a very hard time in school partially due to having enough phenobarbital in her to "put down a horse" as one doc opne phrased it. So you can see I have a bit of a prejudice against over medication and see no reason why, if there are no visable seizures and the child is intellectually ahead of the curve, to drug her further.