New here

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

Reaction score
I am relatively new to the world of seizures. My daughter was 13 months old at the time...she had her first seizure which turned into many and a week in the hospital 2 separate times before her meds were where and what they needed to be. She was on Keppra, Trileptal, and Topamax. She has since been weaned off the Trileptal and Keppra. Topamax sprinkles is the only Med left and she has really came out of the fog she was in. She is now developing where she should be. We made it to 492 days without a seizure until today. We have been very lucky with her to this point. She wasn’t feeling the best yesterday and last night she developed a fever. I treated the fever because it was greater than 101. She laid down for a nap this morning and I heard a noise on her monitor, so I went into her room. She was having a seizure. It didn’t last but a minute which felt like an eternity and sent me back to when they started. I thought this morning that I could smell a sweetness to her breath. I recall smelling this before when she was having seizures in the beginning. I mentioned this to her neurologist when they started but he never validated or disregarded my question. So my question is...do others smell a difference in another’s breath prior to a seizure?

Hey Tammy, welcome to CWE!