New Member: Hi all! :)

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

Valerie

New
Reaction score
Hello there
I'm new to CWE. I'm an adult who has just recently starting having seizures again. It's been about 7 years since the last time I had any seizure activity, even without Rx. I'm post-traumatic epileptic, the result of head injury sustained in a car accident back in 1989. The first 2 seizures occurred in Feb n Mar 1990. That's when the diagnoses was made. I was put on Phenobarbital then switched over to Dilantin. Then my husband and I desired to start a family. Not wanting to chance any birth defects, I took myself off of all meds. I was fine- for about 7 years. Then after a late-party night with little sleep(but NO alcohol) and an early rise, I had a seizure. I had developed an allergic reaction to Dilantin, so I was put on Depakote ER. I was on that for a few years. I hated the absent-mindedness of being on meds! Not to mention the huge weight gain!! I went off of meds again around 2007. No problem. Until Sep 10, 2014. I do not desire to go back on meds. I'm trying the Ketogenic Diet. Any suggestions to make that diet more successful is greatly appreciated, especially since I'm having hard time staying "moderate" via urinalysis by Ketosticks. I'm also threatened by Diabetes. Recipes are greatly appreciated.
Thanks & may God bless you all. :)
~ Valerie

Hi Valerie, welcome to CWE!