Newbie here

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

Boann

New
Reaction score
Hey all,

I'm new to these forums. I've had epilepsy for about 4 1/2 years and the longer I have it the more frustrated I get with my condition. My condition is fairly manageable with only a few seizures a year and that's usually because I mess up and forget, which happens semi-frequently and luckily my mom or fiance always ask me if I've taken it. If I can't remember I take it again.

It's not the seizures I'm most frustrated with, it's the constant side effects of living with it. The memory loss, the frustration, the higher suicide rate, the mental and physical fatigue despite not doing anything. The fact that I feel like I've been through a dryer on spin cycle when I go on long car trips for no foreseeable reason that I can think of besides having this disorder. I love to travel too. What would it be like on an airplane? Obviously I haven't traveled extensively in awhile.