Adult male suddenly experiencing tonic seizures

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

Brian W.

New
Reaction score
Hello everyone. I'm a 48 year old male who has suddenly started having tonic seizures. Please forgive my ignorance as I am new to this condition. I do not understand my symptoms and I'm hoping to get some clarity. Without warning I had my first seizure in mid September 2022. I was with my wife and have no memory of the event. I was having trouble speaking for about 30 minutes before then my entire body stiffened and i lost consciousness. My first memory is about 20 hours after in a hospital bed wondering how I got there or what had happened. I was very sore but recovered after a week or so. But I started having strange symptoms immediately after including numbness around my mouth and chin and what can only be described as head rushes. A feeling of liquid pouring over my brain then down through my arms and legs. These symptoms lasted until about mid January 2023 then just seemed to vanish. Then February 26th I had another seizure. Same circumstances however the confusion and loss of speech lasted for an hour and a half before the seizure. This time I lost all memory of my morning activities and have no memory of the entire day. The confusion started at 12:30 pm and and I had the seizure at 2pm. It took much longer to recover this time but the facial numbness and head rush did not return until