Hello, my name is Bert

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

Bertg

New
Reaction score
Hi all,
I am here because I am very new to this and do not know what to do or where to start.

Last week (Thursday) I began feeling very strange. My head started spinning and I thought I was having a bout of vertigo. I shook my head to try to clear it, but continued to feel very strange. I said to my wife "I'm not okay", and apparently said the same thing 2 more times as she was running to catch me before I hit the ground. Everything else that I relate is second hand because I do not remember any of it until I got to the hospital.

My wife says that my eyes rolled back and I had a violent seizure that lasted almost 5 minutes. During the seizure, I bit my tongue very badly, though it did not need stitches (at least according to the doctor). I live in Mexico and my wife called the Red Cross who came and evaluated me, but would not take me to the hospital, as apparently they do not do that here. My wife and a neighbor took me to the hospital, and after they got me hooked up to machines and IV, I came to enough to realize what was going on.