New and not myself

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I'm so sorry for all the confusion. Nakamova, thank you so much for trying to help me and for posting for me. I think it's all working now.

I am brand new to seizures but not new to health problems. For years I was treated as a psych patient when I really had Cushing's Disease from pituitary tumors. Now I'm being told I have seizures in my sleep and some other type of seizure in the daytime that I am not aware of. I never knew this existed. I thought all seizures were very violent and looked the same. Certainly that others would know I was having them even if I didn't?!?

The neurologist said this is not true. She said everything I wrote on her questionaire was indicative of seizures and that my MRI and EEG said they are happening frequently or have been happening for a while. Honestly I don't remember which of those she said because I was too busy trying to tell her that I was NOT having seizures and didn't need medication.

I guess I was a little caught off guard because I've already lost all my pituitary and adrenal funciton to Cushing's, lost years of my life to psychiatric cocktails I never needed to be on and because I'm still dealing with the financial fall out from 8 surgeries to repair everything and all the medications to treat the panhypopituitary/adrenal insufficiency...