Newbie Here!

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

Status
Not open for further replies.

ashmstng

New
Reaction score
Hi my name is Ashley. I have had epilepsy for 23 years. I take 4 differents meds now. And have the VNS implanted. I will be having the brain surgery next month. I wanted to talk to someone that has had the brain surgery. Send me a message. :)

Hi Ashley - Welcome to CWE
I considered having my daughters brain mapped to see if she was a candidate for surgery, but decided to try neurofeedback first. We have had incredible results from this, so I doubt I am going to talk to the doctor about the mapping.

Was the VNS not successful?

My friend Zoe had surgery, but I am not sure if she is able to be online much lately.

Hey Robin!
How are you? At first I thought the VNS wasnt doing anything but when I had to go in to get tests done and they shut it off. I had more seizures. So it is a help some. It doesnt exactly control it by itself. As you may know it comes with a magnet and the magnet you run across it stops it. But I have had less. Just still having them and not being able control them or figure what is causing them. So no the VNS was not successful. It may work differently on others. But it didnt work for me. Thanks for asking. Goodluck with your daughter.

Welcome Ashley

Long time no see! We've missed you on the VNS Message Board!