Newbie here: med question

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

LisaBee

New
Reaction score
Hi! Just a med question for anyone that can give me some direction or input. My 11 yr old daughter had a Grand Mal seizure in her sleep on June 9th. Tests ran, all ok, sent home. One week later on June 16th she had another one, also in her sleep. On the 20th they started her on Keppra (generic) 750mg am and 750mg pm. Since then, not much change in seizure frequency but has made the episodes milder (not full blown T-C). Last week they bumped her up to 1000mg both am and pm. My question is...1.Should it take almost a month for the meds to work? 2. Is there still hope for total seizure control on this med, maybe Im too impatient? 3. Should I ask for a different med? I guess I was just praying she would be seizure free by now. It will be a month on meds Friday. Thanks for listening!! :)

Greetings and Welcome to CWE
I take 3000mg of Keppra a day. This
is the drug of choice for alot Drs. It shouldnt
take very for it to start working.But i would watch
out for changes in mood ie deppression ,strang rashes.
talk with the Dr. start a journal to write down any info
regarding her episodes.theres a lot of helpful people here .
And hope things workout.:twocents::e: