First time talking

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

Jhagman

New
Reaction score
Hi everyone.

This is my first attempt at discussing epilepsy with anyone other than my close family. I've never even met another person with epilepsy. I'm at a point of frustration with all of this that I need to really start talking about it and taking it seriously.

I was diagnosed five years ago, at 40. There was some activity that built up to my first big TC but none of the history that sometimes goes along with epilepsy. It was days after my birthday. "HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!...and you have epilepsy now, so take that."

The docs tell me there are no visible lesions or any other culprit they can point to. It just happens. I'll stop there for now before I tell my entire life's story.

Thanks- Jason

Hi Jason,

Welcome to CWE! I'm sorry to hear that you started having seizures, I've had seizures for 45 yrs. now do to scar tissue on the brain but I had surgery and that made a big difference in my life for the better.

I will tell you the best thing to do is to have your family Dr. refer you to see an Epileptologist which is a Dr. who specializes in epilepsy. I have found an Epileptologist has helped me the most compared to all the neurologist I've seen in my life. The Epileptologist will be able to find the cause of your seizures and keep you on the least amount of meds.