Hi - I'm New Here!

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

Status
Not open for further replies.

whittyg

New
Reaction score
Well, I'm new to this whole forum thing and a little nervous I guess... but I suppose I'll start by introducing myself. I'm 28, and live in Toronto with my husband and my dog. I've had epilepsy for ten years - simple partial seizures every day (currently one or two) and sometimes when I'm super stressed a tonic clonic happens, but not very often. I take 200mg of Topomax twice a day.
I really just want to be able to meet some new people - I don't know anyone with epilepsy - and talk about it and I guess I could really use some support. I've got a lot to give as well! Like I said though, I'm new at all this, so I'm probably not going about it the right way - but I'll learn! I'm really looking forward to joining the community.

Hi whittg, welcome to the forum. :hello:

No worries! Forums can seem a bit wierd when you first start using them to communicate with people, but in the end, it's not much different than playing "phone tag" by leaving messages on answering machines (just that the messages are public like a group conversation).

Thanks for the friendly welcome Bernard. I think I'm already beginning to find my feet in here!