Hi newbie here 😘

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

Kazm63

New
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I've had epilepsy for 28 years I think! It's hard to say as here I am all that time later starting investigations again because they're not sure. I do have some knowledge though. I'm currently coming off Keppra from 1500mg twice daily and going up to possibly 300mg Zonisimide I also take 350mg lamotrogine twice daily and 25mg Topirimate twice daily but I think that is more for migraine prevention. I've had a right temporal lobectomy because 18 years ago my neurologist thought my seizures were beginning in my right temporal lobe and spreading from there, hence the removal. My biggest problem now is my short term memory!! Does anyone else have really bad memory problems?

Hi Kazm63,

Welcome to CWE! Just like you I had a right temporal lobectomy and my short term memory hasn't been the best but one thing that has helped me a lot that my neurosurgeon told me to do is word search puzzles, along with math problems. I have also been doing brain teasers which can be found on line (just type in brain teasers). Doing all of these things along with keeping active has helped me a lot and my short term memory is much better. I wish you the best of luck and May God Bless You!

Sue

Hey Kazm63, welcome to CWE!