My journey with Vimpat

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

I've been talking vimpat for a couple years. At first it worked great. But I had bad mood problems. For me it was different than keppra but similar. And seizures returned so we city my dose down to 50 mg it got better. I now take 50 and it helps. It's the best I've found so far, for me. (With lamotrigine, etc.). The smaller amount of vimpat gives me less seizures and not alert mood.

Thanks for your reply. Just curious: have you found all citrus fruits to be a problem with exaggerating side effects? I've heard grapefruit juice can be a problem, but didn't know about oranges or orange juice!
Grapefruit is something I need to avoid due to a particular medication, not AED, being taken. No issues with oranges.

I had tried Vimpat as an add on to Topiramate when dropped Dilantin a few years ago. I did okay--I still ended up averaging 1-3 complex partials/month after a while despite taking 400MG/day of each AED. I had to switch from Vimpat to Zonisamide due to our insurance changing. The old one charged $350 copay for a 3-month supply, The new one wanted me to pay $1600 for just 1 month's supply! Now, I'm in the process of dropping of replacing Topiramate with Xcopri.