New to the Forum

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

conidutka

New
Reaction score
I am very encouraged to find this site. We are raising our 12 year old granddaughter who has had epilepsy since the age of 6. Will definitely be following this forum very closely.

Hi conidukta, welcome to CWE!

Make yourself at home. :)

Hi conidutka,

Welcome to the forum! I've had epilepsy for 46 yrs. and I am still learning new things from everyone here. They have been a great help to me.
When I was 10 I started having absence and complex partial seizures. One thing that helped me a lot is my diet and cutting back on the carbs and starch foods along with staying away from anything with nutra sweet in it. Your daughter is at the age where her hormones may possibly trigger seizures for her. I know when I was her age I had a hard time with hormone changing each month triggering seizures for me but then I found eating nuts the best thing to reduce this type of seizure.
You may want to keep track of your daughters seizures write down what time they happen and the type of seizure she had. Also take note if she is sick or if there's a low pressure in the weather because sometimes that can trigger seizures for some people. Stress and lack of sleep are the 2 main things that can trigger seizures for many people with epilepsy.