A New Member with Questions

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

Reaction score
Hello! I am a third grade teacher and just recently had a grand mal seizure a month and a half ago during my Christmas break. I had been seizure free without meds for 15 years. I started having petit mal seizures (absence seizures) when I was 7 or 8 and had my first grand mal when I was 11 until I was 13 or 14. My pediatric neurologist took me off my meds (Depakote) when I was about 16. I haven't had any problems until recently. I am back on meds (Levetiracetam) and haven't had anything else happen so far. My doctor had an MRI done(everything was normal) and an EEG. He told me that my EEG showed I had generalized epilepsy and told me he wanted to keep me on my meds. I guess my question is why would I go for 15 years with no seizures to suddenly having a seizure and being put back on meds. Has anyone had anything similar happen to them? I guess I am frustrated because I want to know why I had a seizure again after so many years without any.