Keppra Side Effects

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

Faith1

New
Reaction score
Hi everyone, This is my first time posting on here so I hope I'm posting this in the right place. My husband was diagnosed with epilepsy 2 years ago after having 2 grand mal seizures in his sleep. He was originally prescribed depakote but that literally almost killed him..it attacked his liver. After that the dr. put him on keppra. He has been taken keppra for almost a year and a half but lately I have been noticing severe mood swings, irritability and depression. Does anyone else have any experience with this? He has an appt. coming up in 2 weeks with the neurologist but it has been really scaring me. I feel like he goes off about the littlest things and gets very emotional and that is not like him. If anyone can help I really appreciate it. Thanks!

Hello and welcome to CWE! :)

Those are very common side effects of Keppra. You should go with him to his appointment and discuss with his neurologist what you've seen, because it's very likely that's being caused by the Keppra. A change in medication or an adjustment to his current dose could clear up those side effects. You guys just need to make his doctor aware of what side effects he's having and how they are affecting you guys. :)