whats best for epilepsy

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

drose10

New
Reaction score
hey well im new to this and i wanted to know if anyone knows what is the best way to stop getting seizures. I got my first one when i was 13 not knowing why if i never drank or took any drugs at that age. I heard that some illegal drug can help with epilespy. I to am at that stage where i want to try new things. I also wonder how much alcohol a person can drink before they get one, ive tried a long island tea but just drank a little of it. Or what alcohol can i officially drink that wont trigger in getting a seizure

I'd strongly advise against illegal drugs. Not only is the clue in the name there, but they're not regulated or proven to help and there could be all sorts mixed in with them.

The amount of alcohol a person can drink depends. I know it's not recommended with some medications. I'd say that most probably avoid alcohol altogether. I don't drink it very often, and if i'm not feeling right then i won't have any. Only you can know your limits when it comes to that.

Sometimes there is no known cause for epilepsy. It's called Idiopathic (basically, they don't know where it came from and can't find a cause)