different types of seizures...was mine a grand mal?

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

kerihough

New
Reaction score
What are the different types of seizures. what is a "tonic clonic"? I was just curious as to what type I have had. someone said in the introduction forum that it sounds like a "tonic clonic" or grand mal. I am new to all this and was interested in finding out what the difference is between all the types. or if someone can give me a link if that info is already on here, that would be great too. If you are curious as to checking out my experience and telling my what makes mine a "tonic clonic" if that is what it is would be great too. In the foyer forum the thread for kerihough. thanks all!

Keri

Hi there

and welcome to CWE. I don't know if I've welcomed you yet, but here are a couple of links to check out, specifically for seizure types. The first is tonic clonic (grand mal), the other is a more generic listing that you can access on the same site.

http://www.epilepsy.com/EPILEPSY/SEIZURE_TONICCLONIC

http://www.epilepsy.com/EPILEPSY/TYPES_SEIZURES