Medication

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

Addie

New
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I'm still fairly new to all this, I'm not on any medication yet but I'm going to see my Neurologist tomorrow to see what is going on.

I'm a bit concerned about medication. In general health I do not like taking medication. I won't take any pain killers or antibiotics if I don't really have to. I have a bit of a fear of becoming reliant on them. I have some nerve damage in my back and I will use Chinses Herbal Patches instead of pain killers.

I was just wondering if anyone knows anything about Homeopathic remedies or anything similar that could help with seizures that I could mention to the Doctor tomorrow.

I also do have a problem with swallowing tablets. If i can I will crush tablets (I Know your not supposed to) or have the ones that dissolve. Is there anything like that for epilepsy.

Or point me in the direction of another post that might help :)

Addie

Hi Addie. I don't no if of any interest to you. There is a diet called the Ketogenic Diet. I don't much about it so you would have to look it up or maybe someone on here knows something about it. I heard of it because I watched a film on it called First do no harm. Its a true story. Its a very interesting. Does anyone else know anything about this diet? Hope this will help. LOL.xx