panic attack

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

ekalina

New
Reaction score
Today my epileptologist diagnosed me with panic attacks and prescribed Cymbalta. I've heard good things about Cymbalta. I'm shocked about the panic attacks. I thought I was having severe withdrawals from Lamictal. I'm a nurse for God's sake. It NEVER occurred to me that I might be having a panic attack. It went on for three days.

Anyone else have problems with anxiety? Anyone with panic attacks that don't feel like heart attacks?

I don't have epilepsy, my son does but I have had many panic attacks, I have also had my fair share of seizures just never diagnosed with anything. My panic attacks did not feel like heart attacks but made me very sick. My heart would race to the point where I would vomit and faint, I would sweat and truly feel like I was going to die. They come out of no where, with no warning and no explanation. I took Klonapin as well as Zoloft and it truly helped. Panic attacks are very scary since your bodies response is as if you were being chased by a pack of dogs. Good luck to you, I hope you find a medicine or therapy that can help you through this. I eventually was able to stop the drugs and although I at times get "panicky" I no longer have panic attacks.