Eager to learn - measuring ketones

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

keto_tech

New
Reaction score
Hello, everyone. I am a postdoctoral researcher at Texas Tech University. I am neither epileptic nor related to someone with epilepsy. I am here to learn about epilepsy, more specifically, about the use of the ketogenic diet to treat epilepsy.

I understand that treatment with the ketogenic diet is controversial, and I am really not concerned about the efficacy. Our research is focused on measuring ketones, and we believe this could help people going through this treatment to monitor their state of ketosis. We would like to understand the challenges that patients face when trying to measure ketones.

Thanks in advance for all your help.

Hi kt, welcome to the forum. :hello:

I changed the thread title for you to catch the eye of members here that are using the ketogenic diet.

Hi Keto Tech

I've been off and on in ketosis for years.

The measuring devices that are available are the urine sticks and the diabetic blood monitors which involve finger poking .
The urine sticks are helpful when first getting started but then decline in efficacy once ketosis is established because they only measure the ketones being excreted, not the ketones circulating and being used for fuel.
The finger poking method is much more accurate but I don't want to be stabbing myself constantly since I don't have diabetes.