Had my first appointment with an epileptologist and...

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

Inarnia

New
Reaction score
Hi, this is my first time posting here, but I've been watching the forum for a while. :)

So after a year and a half of seeing my neuropsych, we went for a second opinion with an epileptologist. It went pretty well, and she's decided on bloodwork, an MRI, and also a prolonged video EEG (as long as all the insurance goes through).

However, the one thing I found worrying is this: I was diagnosed with Temporal Lobe Epilepsy 2.5 years ago, at 14, although I've been having absences and the very occasional tonic clonic and drop seizure all my life. She said she's not going to diagnose it as epilepsy yet, and instead put on the video EEG referral form "paroxymal spells + other seizures". Has anyone had experience with this? Is this kind of a 'limbo' diagnosis - as in, she doesn't know completely yet, but still think it is epilepsy? I have some psychiatric history, although that has all been attributed to the Temporal Lobe Epilepsy. I just don't want to be in the epilepsy monitoring unit for 5 days only to be given a psychiatric referral or something?

Any help would be appreciated - everyone on this forum seems so knowledgeable and nice! :)

Hi Inarnia --