Hello

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

aperezz6

New
Reaction score
Hello,

My name is Andrew and I am Texas. I have had epilepsy since I was about 13 or 14 years old and I am currently 34. I used to take trileptal but I have not been on medication for years because I don't have seizures often anymore. In addition, to having epilepsy myself, I am a PhD student in Rehabilitation Counseling and I am interested in how people cope with epilepsy. Rehabilitation Counseling is focused on helping people with disabilities. Currently, I am doing a research study on epilepsy and employment for a class project. I am almost done with school, this should be my last year and I should graduate in May.

Hi Andrew, welcome to CWE. Good to see another Texan. :)

Hi Andrew,

Welcome to CWE! I've had epilepsy for 45 yrs. now and I also have a cousin whose had seizures just about all of her life and then her seizures stopped but she still takes her med. each day and she's in her 80's.