just diagnosed fear of medication

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

Status
Not open for further replies.

daisydu

New
Reaction score
Hi All
this is my first time on your forum! I was recently diagnosed with TLE and have been prescribed Lamotrigine.
I have suffered from depression/panic attacks for many years and am VERY sensitive to medication. I am so scared to take the tablets and am wondering what would happen if I didn't take them.
Thanks for reading this!
Daisydu:cry:

Hi Daisydu, welcome to the forum. :hello:

A good place to start would be these threads: Epilepsy 101 and proactive prescription for epilepsy.

If you don't take the Lamictal/Lamotrigine, you will miss out on any potential seizure control. Worst case, your seizures start getting worse in a process called kindling.

:hello: Daisy

Bernard is right - and those two links he's
provided are a very good place to start
reading and by the way --- WELCOME TO
CWE .. You can learn a lot from people from
all types - caretakers and those who have
epilepsy/seizures like me.

Hi Daisy - my daughter seems to be very sensitive to the medication as well. We are taking it very very slowly, increasing every two weeks.
Some of the meds and I think Lamictal is one, can actually help with depression.
I guess my feeling is, how are the seizures affecting your life, and can you live with that.