Newbie!

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

Status
Not open for further replies.

mevans

New
Reaction score
HI everyone. This is my first time on this site and I was hoping for a little support from people in the same boat as me. I was diagnosed with partial complex seizures about 2.5 years ago after having a car accident (not my fault). It was really hard because nobody could tell me what was going on. Finally I got sent to a great doctor and after doing a bunch of tests finally we figured it out. I now have a one year old son who is happy and healthy for the most part. But what I was wondering was is there any link between Lamotrigine (seizure meds in general) and ear problems. I was on Lamotrigine while I was pregnant and now my son has major ear problems. I was just wondering if anyone else has had these problems or if they have any info.
Thanks and I can't wait to get to know everyone!

Hi mevans, welcome to the forum. :hello:

Please consider adding your experience to the AED Pregnancy Registry.

I haven't heard specifically about any problems with Lamictal/Lamotrigine and birth defects related to the ear. The FDA did release an advisory about an increased risk for cleft lip/palate.

I find this site very helpful.
http://www.danasview.net/virfile.htm
It is geared toward autism, but don't be put off by that. It has some great info for chronic disease, as does this site:
www.stankurtz.com