VERY frustrated/confused...any advice????

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

mrsf7602

New
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I am relatively new to this whole diagnosis and am feeling very frustrated and confused after my son's last appointment. I will try to give you a summary of what we have experienced over the past year (sorry if it's long!), and I would love to hear any advice you could offer.

My son experienced a prolonged staring episode (30 seconds) in mid-March, 2012. He was completely unresponsive to his name or to cold (he had been pouring a cold drink at a time...it was running over his hand and he didn't even flinch). Pediatrician ordered a one hour sleep deprived EEG - it showed epileptiform activity in his left temporal lobe. We followed up with a neuro who diagnosed him with partial complex seizures. He began Keppra in April. Before going on the Keppra, we noticed additional episodes of prolonged staring - some also included motor involvement, such as rapid blinking and tongue thrusting. None lasted more than 20-30 seconds.