Infrequent Seizures

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I am new to the world of seizures, but so far my child had what we now believe to be a petit mal seizure on January 19 and then 3 more seizures (2 petit mal and 1 tonic-clonic) within an hour on February 23. We are seeing a pediatric neurologist tomorrow and so far, no one is discussing meds because his seizures are not frequent enough (which I think is good.)

My question is this; how do you get those involved in your child's life to take the condition serious enough to heed the safety measures the doctor's ask for? I don't want to restrict him too much, but I want them to understand that he does in fact have a medical condition that requires a certain level of extra precautions to be taken despite the fact that he is "ok" the majority of the time. I'm concerned about that little part of the time when he is not "ok."

depends on who those involved are. Daycares, Schools etc must listen to any written recommendations your doctor gives them. Such as no gym class. They cannot fail him because he does not participate, but instead can get him to do written assignments.

A daycare should listen to all needed advice. Write down seizures that occur, what to do during a seizure (all types) when to call an ambulance and when and how to admisiter emergency medication.