Myoclonic jerks is keeping me from sleep!

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

Reaction score
Hi there I'm new to this and not sure how to go about...
About two months ago I was under a lot of stress (a health scare) for which I was hospitalised for a night and put on some strong antibiotics. Soon as I started the medication I've had these 'hypnic jerks'. It feels like an electric current going up my spine into my head inside somewhere. Every time I try to drift off to sleep I get jerked right out.
That sent me into a tail spin and I went into full anxiety disorder mode: stomach churning, hyperventilating, adrenaline surges... Was VERY UNPLEASANT! I went to see a CBT psychiatrist and he put me on some anti depressants (Mirtazapine) and sleeping tablets (Zopiclone) to help me sleep.
Since then, six weeks into treatment, my anxiety is manageable... But the jerks are STILL THERE! I notice that I'm being jerked OUT of sleep in the morning when the action of the sleeping tablets had worn off.
I don't know if this have anything to do with epilepsy at all but decided to post something up because I saw someone having a similar problem.