Need feedback! I'm a newbie!

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

cnoons

New
Reaction score
Hello, all! I'm not sure if I'm using this correctly, it's my first time on any type of forum. To start off, I'm 21 and living in Chicago. I thought my seizures were a part of my past so I could move out of my parents house and start a fresh chapter, but I guess they threw a curve ball and came back.

I've had what doctors call "tremors" in my left hand since I was twelve. Some doctors claim this was due to repetitious behavior (I swam a lot and played trombone). When I was 15, I fell off a bus and remained conscious during a 3 minute seizure on the ground. I blacked out towards the end and was diagnosed with epilepsy. I had seizures during sleep, up to 7 a night, on and off for about a year until medication (Depakote, Zonagram, Topamax, etc.) slowed them to just hand tremors.

I had thought my seizures were over until about a week ago (9/08/09) when I had a hand tremor that evolved into a seizure on a very busy street in front of a crowd of people. I was fully conscious during the 2 minute seizure, which led my neurologist to believe it was a pseudoseizure. Currently on 200 mg Topamax. I've been getting terrible headaches lately as well. My hand tremors are getting worse and every time I get one, I freak out because I think it's going to be a seizure.