Newbie here...(focal onset epilepsy) looking to chat

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

sibbp84

New
Reaction score
Hi everyone!

I was diagnosed with focal onset epilepsy about 3-4 months ago after a year of being told I had panic attacks/anxiety disorders...so a little bit of a relief strangely enough.

I have simple partial seizures which involve an epigastric rise (I believe thats what they are called), burning or smoke smell, over whelming feeling of fear, vision goes a little distorted and my fingers feel like they have pins and needles. I have only every had the burning smell once, it was for about 1 second and the rising followed immediately. The rest have just included the other symptoms.

I have been put on Lamictal, currently on 75mg per day, wanting me to be on 100mg which I will be increasing to next week.

Just wondering if there is anyone else out there with similar experiences? I have only ever had these however there is always that thing in the back of my mind that they may get worse and generalise, but unsure with me being medicated now.

I havnt had a proper one for some time now but I do get occasions where I come across very hot and anxious for now reason, really uncomfortable but they never progress to a full partial seizure as I call them.

Im hoping getting to my therapeutic dose will sort that out.

Anyways...just a brief info if anyone wants to chat :woot: