Reasons for taking a license away in North Carolina

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

zippchic

New
Reaction score
I'm new to NC and was wondering if anyone knows what the stipulations are for when someone has a seizure and do they take your license away?

I don't know the laws in NC,but they do in TX. In order to get your license back after it has been taken. You have to remain seizure free for a certain length of time at least six months or more. Each state is different.

Hi Zippchic - sorry to hear you are having to deal with this.
My daughter isn't able to get her license yet here in CA. She has to be seizure free for 6 months, but I have told her my rules are a year. She wants to wait until she is 18... so that is 1.5 yrs. That works for me.

Hi Zippchic - sorry to hear you are having to deal with this.
My daughter isn't able to get her license yet here in CA. She has to be seizure free for 6 months, but I have told her my rules are a year. She wants to wait until she is 18... so that is 1.5 yrs. That works for me.
This may be a stupid question, but can somebody simultaneously have a drivers' license and a non-drivers' state issued identification card? I'm thinking it probably is not an option because of identity theft.