Temporal Lobe Epilepsy and Ictal Headaches

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

Reaction score
Hello everyone, I'm new to coping with epilepsy and I've found myself fitting in with many posts. I'm 27yrs old and I've been in psychiatric treatment for 12yrs for depression, anxiety, and OCD. since 1993-4 when I was 10 I've had sleeping issues that are a bit different than the common sleep disorders associated with depression. My falling asleep in high school actually led towards people giving me nicknames for my inability to stay awake. I also had episodes in college where I'd go into a funny sleep state where my eyes would roll back and I would drool, I'd come to embarrassed with my friends looking on, not knowing if I was joking or what to think. These same friends have told me that during these states I've often times started drawing as if I were conscious. I was surprised to find this out as I didn't even know I did this. My what are believed to be simple partial seizures usually happen when I'm trying to get to bed. I'll have a vibrating feeling on my lips, my hands get clammy and my heart starts to race, and I feel a feeling of euphoria. During these episodes I can say that there is no other feeling in the world that compares even sex to the feelings I get. I feel as though I can understand the language of the universe and I'm one with the world. Sounds new-agey but that is how it feels. I see colors