Tonic seizures?

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

amlowe

New
Reaction score
Looking for info on tonic seizures...

Hi all! I am brand new to this site and this is my first time posting...

My 8 yr old daughter had her first seizure 10 days ago. From what I've read, it seems she had a tonic seizure.

-seizure happened early morning, minutes within waking
-seconds before it started, she complained she didn't feel well (an aura?)
-strong muscle contractions all over (both arms, legs, torso, neck)
-i saw no convulsions, trembling, or jerks whatsoever
-loss of consciousness
-loss of bladder control
-lasted approx. 12-15 seconds
-"woke" confused, with no memory of seizure
-rest of the day she was tired, and complained of dizziness, headache, some more stomach pains
-family history of seizures in paternal grandmother and maternal grandfather

Now, I'm a big believer in educating yourself in order to advocate for yourself and your children. So, I google, cautiously...and Usually, this works for me. Usually, I find it empowering, having gained some knowledge. Except, there isn't a lot of information available online about tonic seizures, at least when not related to Lennox-Gastaut Syndrome.