Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

Reaction score
Hello Friends...

I don't how to keep doing this. I'm currently studying in Istanbul, Turkey and my Epilepsy has gotten way out of hand. So I'll be starting a new medication. The problem is the side-effects terrify me and I'll be dealing with anything that comes from the new medication, as well as the side effects from my old medication and trying to go to school. I barely have enough strength to get out of bed some mornings... it just feels like I can't get a break. I realize this sounds so depressive and I'm sorry. I'm not an overly sad person normally but it feels like swimming... you're fine until suddenly you get a leg cramp and then the water is closing in over your head. Its just so much to deal with...

How do you do this? (life...friends... relationships...all of it)
How do you not get angry at everyone who doesn't have to deal with this?
Have you been on Tegretol CR before or are you on it now? What was it like?

-Mary
:e:

Last edited:
Hello Intothatendlessblue,

I am sure you feel like u r drowning never mind swimming, but CHIN UP……how about floating for a bit? Being easy on YOU..

That being said, you are going through a med transaction, you need time and rest....can you give yourself a break, to really chill….even couple of days?

How do you do this? (Life...friends... relationships...all of it)