Hi There to all...

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

NewGuy

New
Reaction score
Greeting to everyone in this site.

This is my first time to post. My wife and I just found out today that my kid has epilepsy. He's turning seven this year and all along we thought that his seizures were nothing serious. Until his school teacher suddenly woke us up and told us that she also noticed his seizures a couple of time already. My wife went to the hospital this morning and the doctors confirmed he has it. He'll be undergoing his EEG's and other things starting on thursday.

It's just a shock to me right now and my wife and I cried while we were talking on the phone. I don't know what to do. My wife is losing hope and I told her not to... I said to her that there's a lot of people who has epilepsy and still manage to live normal lives.

Maybe I'm just thinking too far ahead. I'm worried about his school, his teens and his adulthood. I really don't know what to say. This is the most painful time in our lives and I don't know how to help my kid and ease his and our pain. I joined this group in hopes that you can offer me some help. Like I've said, I'm new to epilepsy.