muscle twitches, upping depakote

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

Reaction score
Hi everyone,
I've had epilepsy since I was 11 and after going through some different medications, I finally found that depakote worked to control my seizures. (I have juvenille myclonic). I've been doing great on this for about 12 years now, but recently I've been finding that I have very small muscle twitches and jerks, nothing that really bothers me, and nothing that even feels like a seizure is coming on, but nonetheless I let my neurologist know and his first inclination was to up my dosage levels on Depakote. However, this is all over the phone and I can't even see him til July...crazy!

Have any of you heard of this suddenly happening, where you have to change medications after such a long period of time? And I'm also wary to up the Depakote because I've had such a hard time with the weight gain and I'm worried that upping the dose will have an affect on making it even harder to lose weight again.

Thanks everyone!

Hi helpinghands, welcome to CWE!

Epilepsy is weird and unpredictable. It's not unusual for symptoms to change, in part because we change -- through age, or in response to our environment. The new twitches and jerks could be a sign that your metabolism has increased, and your meds are cycling faster through your system. Or perhaps your brain is just jumpier because other brain chemicals are changing.